Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

How journaling can save your sanity

And open your heart

I have been journaling my whole life. These days I tend to journal mostly at 3am but also when I am struggling with difficult situations. In fact, recently I journaled almost 20 pages as I processed a betrayal of someone I trusted.

Writing to myself has been my life raft at many junctures, but recently I realized its TRUE value. I now see it as my MAIN tool for accessing Higher Self and for awakening.

As I write each day, my whole perspective on difficult situations shifts.

Although I start out with a long list of complaints and worries (woe is me), over several days my state of mind eventually morphs into a deep understanding of what is really going on; namely the TRUTH.

As well, I find that the brilliant books I am reading find their way onto my pages, not just as useful quotations, but as very immediate and practical wisdom. Often I am forced to face myself and feel it as real direct experience (often through tears). For example, in the recent situation of betrayal  – I moved from terrible anger (on day one); to sadness (on day three) to acceptance and peace (on day five.)  

Through journaling I am not only able to see the world differently, I am integrating what I know and, more importantly, I feel am evolving into a more self-loving and accepting person.

You might want to try it. Just sit still (very still) and write from your inner self. I am sure he or she has been waiting for you to listen.

Note: If you want to learn more about me and the books I write please visit my website at www.MaureenFitzgerald.com.

Thank you for reading Journal of a Recovering Lawyer . This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Discussion about this podcast

Journal of a Recovering Lawyer
Journal of a Recovering Lawyer Podcast
There is NOTHING more important than waking up.